28 USC § 125
through Pub. L. 116-282, except Pub. L. 116-260

Utah constitutes one judicial district comprising two divisions.

(1) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Morgan, Rich, and Weber.

Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Salt Lake City and Ogden.

(2) The Central Division comprises the counties of Beaver, Carbon, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Juab, Kane, Millard, Piute, Salt Lake, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch, Washington, and Wayne.

Court for the Central Division shall be held at Salt Lake City, Provo, and St. George.

Historical and Revision Notes

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §190 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §109, 36 Stat. 1127).

A provision relating to the maintenance of offices by the clerk was omitted as covered by section 751 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

Editorial Notes


1996—Par. (1). Pub. L. 104–317, §606(a), inserted "Salt Lake City and" before "Ogden".

Par. (2). Pub. L. 104–317, §606(b), inserted ", Provo, and St. George" after "Salt Lake City".

Tried the LawStack mobile app?

Join thousands and try LawStack mobile for FREE today.

  • Carry the law offline, wherever you go.
  • Download CFR, USC, rules, and state law to your mobile device.