28 USC § 82
through Pub. L. 116-282, except Pub. L. 116-260

Arizona constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Flagstaff, Globe, Phoenix, Prescott, Tucson, and Yuma.

Historical and Revision Notes

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §143 (June 20, 1910, ch. 310, §31, 36 Stat. 576; Oct. 3, 1913, ch. 17, §§1, 2, 38 Stat. 203).

A provision for transfer of causes, civil or criminal, from one place for holding court to another was omitted. Such provision, as to civil cases, is covered by section 1404 of this title, and, as to criminal cases, is rendered unnecessary because of inherent power of the court and Rules 18–20 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, relating to venue.

A provision for making an interlocutory order at any place designated for holding court was omitted as unnecessary in view of Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, rule 77(b).

A provision requiring the clerk to keep his office at the State capital was omitted as covered by section 751 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

Editorial Notes


2019—Pub. L. 116–40 substituted "Flagstaff, Globe, Phoenix, Prescott, Tucson, and Yuma" for "Globe, Phoenix, Prescott, and Tucson".

Tried the LawStack mobile app?

Join thousands and try LawStack mobile for FREE today.

  • Carry the law offline, wherever you go.
  • Download CFR, USC, rules, and state law to your mobile device.