For purposes of this subchapter, the term "State" means each of the several States and the District of Columbia.


Pub. L. 100–202 and Pub. L. 100–203 added identical sections.


1992—Pub. L. 102–486 substituted "several States and the District of Columbia." for "several States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, any other territory or possession of the United States, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands."

Tried the LawStack mobile app?

Join thousands and try LawStack mobile for FREE today.

  • Carry the law offline, wherever you go.
  • Download CFR, USC, rules, and state law to your mobile device.