28 USC § 126
through Pub. L. 116-282, except Pub. L. 116-260

Vermont constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Bennington, Brattleboro, Burlington, Montpelier, Rutland, Saint Johnsbury, and Windsor.

Historical and Revision Notes

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §191 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §110, 36 Stat. 1127; Feb. 1, 1912, ch. 26, 37 Stat. 58; Feb. 28, 1929, ch. 360, 45 Stat. 1345).

Provision that "any stated term may, when adjourned, be adjourned to meet at any of the other places at Montpelier or Newport," was omitted as unnecessary and inconsistent with sections 140 and 141 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

Editorial Notes


1984—Pub. L. 98–620 provided for holding court at Bennington.

1964—Pub. L. 88–312 provided for holding court at Montpelier and Saint Johnsbury.

Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries

Effective Date of 1984 Amendment

Amendment by Pub. L. 98–620 effective Jan. 1, 1985, and not to affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, impaneled, or actually serving on that date, see section 411 of Pub. L. 98–620, set out as a note under section 85 of this title.

Tried the LawStack mobile app?

Join thousands and try LawStack mobile for FREE today.

  • Carry the law offline, wherever you go.
  • Download CFR, USC, rules, and state law to your mobile device.